Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the economic success. Some even debate on the pros and cons of long working hours. I strongly disagree with the idea that extending working hours will accelerate a nation`s economy. Firstly, the economic success is based on multiple factors such as resources, technology development, industrial foundations, etc. For instance, countries like Bangladesh have one of the longest working hours per capita in the world yet still struggled with poverty. Germany, on the other hand, with its outstanding performance of machinery, has created a postindustrial working environment where a lower working hours is applied. Germany is one of the developed countries with a significant economic success in the world. Furthermore, the working hours at present are way less compared with that of 150 years ago while people are surely wealthier than 150 years ago. Secondly, longer working hours reflect lower value of labour force. This means that individual needs to work longer to earn the same amount of income. It might lead to an unbalanced lifestyle, depression, stress related diseases or other unexpected chain reactions. For example, many are arguing about low birth rate in a variety of countries. If women need to devote themselves in the career in order to maintain the same income level as before, there will be no time left for pregnancy or family raising. This is a vicious circle that our society might face a labour shortage in the future. In sum, long working hours might not precede an economy boost; they will increase the burden on the whole society in contrast. Instead of expressing ideas like delaying retirement or extending working hours, it`s better for the governments to take action to strengthen countries’ industrial foundation. By doing so we can make sure that our society remains healthy and developed.