Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

Consumption of tobacco and Smoking is very injurious to health. In recent times, smoking has proven to be a significant reason for serious health issues and mortality all over the world. I extend my support for the betterment of people's interest, the government should put a strict ban on the consumption of tobacco products and cigarettes. Firstly, smoking and tobacco products cause mouth and lung cancer in the human's body. Although, medical facilities have improved yet curing the patient completely becomes impossible for highly qualified doctors.As per a recent report in the leading health magazine, every 5 out of 10 people will develop mouth or lung cancer of stage 4 caused by the smoking habit or consuming tobacco products. Out of those 5, the possibility of 2 deaths is very high. Therefore, it is important to put a curb on these things. Secondly, a non-smoker will get highly affected by just standing next to the smoker. This is called passive smoking. Passive smoking eventually leads to many breathing-related health issues. Some can also lead to incurable diseases or severe illness. For instance, small children are the ones who develop a breathing problem like asthma due to passive smoking. In conclusion, the consumption of cigarettes and tobacco products not only affects the person who is consuming it but also affects a non-user. They are turning out to be the major death cause in many as it leads to cancer. Therefore, I agree that for the betterment of society, the government should put a stringent ban on the consumption of such products which are very harmful to human health