In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it

The rate at which people commit a serious felony in some nations at the moment has reduced drastically. However, citizens of the same countries still feel less secured from criminal elements than in the past. This essay will explain the causes associated with these feelings and also proffer solutions to curbing these menace. To embark on, authorities of these nations have exerted more resources and manpower in chasing after big criminals while paying less attention to minor offenders like petty thieves and reckless car drivers. As a result of this, people are scared of leaving their neighbourhoods to go for walks with their pets in the evenings. Because thieves will break into their apartments and rob them of their valuables if given the slightest opportunities. Also, there is a feeling of insecurity for some people while driving on our roads in the present day due to the increase in substance misuse, as some drivers Overspeed and do not obey road rules and signs. For example, in Alice Springs, Australia, there is an exponential increase in drink drivers yearly in the past decade. Despite the fact that the onus of securing lives and properties lies with the government, individuals should do more by reporting any suspicious movement or behaviour around them to the authorities concern to dealing with hoodlums, as security is everyone's business. Again, consequences should be meted out to offenders, by a way of doing community services or spending jail term to a server as a deterrent to future offenders. In conclusion, nations should try to strike a balance between serious and minor crimes so as to make their citizens feel safe and secure at every given time.