A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that nowadays people judge each other according to their material belongings and social position. In the past, however, people were judged by their values and costumes. I totally agree with this opinion and this essay presents arguments to support my thought. The main reason why I believe the way that the judgement of a person's worth has changed is due to consumerism. This is because we are living in a world that having things has become more important than anything else. To illustrate, according to some researchers, the main ambition of people nowadays is to achieve material possessions, while in the past, people were focused on finding their purpose and becoming a better human being. Therefore, old values, such as companionship and honour, is not valorized anymore as it used to be some time ago. Another reason why I support the notion that people are valorizing more social status and material possessions rather than values are due to technology. The reason for this is that recently people are comparing to others with regards to what they see in social media,which is a small part of people's life. For example, the majority of teenagers aims to become rich and famous because they follow someone with this pattern, and consider him as a successful person. However, although someone has social status and belongings, this does not necessarily mean he is a good person. To conclude, I completely agree that people have changed the way how they see people's worth because of the addiction to buying things and the comparison people have done on social media. Given this situation, it seems that it is time to rescue old values because they are the basis of society.