It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is a contentious argument whether all young adults should dedicate themselves to a certain period of free of charge labour for the community. Some people think that there are more advantages while others think the other way around on this matter. In this essay, I will explore this notion and explain why I tend to believe that there are more positive outputs in this situation. On the one hand, it is obvious that unpaid work can be financially challenging for a young person. For example, a lot of fresh graduates face enormous college tuition debts while they are trying to start a career. Furthermore, being pressured by the student loan debts may greatly affect their stress levels, as well as their mental health, thus possibly causing depressive thoughts and insecurities. Such factors may contribute to low confidence and become showstoppers to start an adult life. On the other hand, being a volunteer provides the youngsters with solid experience in all life spheres, therefore helping them enormously in future. For instance, there are plenty of examples when young law school graduates collaborate and provide attorney support to the community. This becomes of tremendous achievement on their resume. Moreover, this kind of service is helpful for people in desperate situations and in challenging times. Another advantage of providing free services is that youngsters learn how to be compassionate, thus bringing society closer. In conclusion, it is hard to argue that not being paid for work financially challenges the youngsters. However, I believe that obtaining important skills and helping society by far outweighs some possible drawbacks.