News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

News plays an important role in human's life. The type of message leaves a psychological effect on one's mind. It has become a hot topic for discussion, which is about the kind of news that should be broadcasted or printed on television or newspaper respectively. I my opinion, most people start off with their day by reading the newspaper, listening to the radio or by watching the broadcast on television. In this case, if they get to know about the positive and development related report, they will begin their day with a similar thought. To begin with, the editor has a tough job to carry out. They are human beings with feelings. I think they have to undergo a stressful exercise every day, thinking about whether or not to print some report. Editors might have to decide upon the gravity of the situation that is persisting in the area, the city or the country. Being unbiased, controlling emotions and keeping personal opinions aside, are the important aspects that they have to consider before making the decision to publish all kind of news. For example, if they want to report about some serious criminal activity, they have to investigate, gather the correct information and then broadcast the same. In addition, it is proven by science that an individual becomes cruel if that individual is surrounded by such activities, thoughts, people etc. Having mentioned this, it is crucial to check beforehand the effect of articles that are relayed through different types of medium. For instance, I recently came across the news relating to an action video game, which resulted in criminal activity. It happened because the person was involved deeply in the video game and ended up in jail. On the contrary, if the editors manage to broadcast periodicals that contain articles relating to the development taking place in the nation, positive changes in the society, kindness, etc. It will divert readers mind in those directions. To exemplify, one man after getting to know about the poor community dying out of hunger got sympathised and started with an organisation by selling out his 50% of business to help those needy community. To conclude, it is evident from the above illustrations that the type of message that we go through has a great impact on our thinking and behaviour. Thus, it becomes necessary for the editor to relay the kind of news that will bring constructive changes in human society.