The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Public budgeting is often a contentious topic. Some people do not see the value of arts, music and theatres and consider the investment in these areas not worthy when compared to public services. I strongly disagree with this opinion. This essay will give reasons why I support the investment. First of all, quite the contrary of waste of money, investing in arts can generate huge economic returns to the local community. This is because the investment can boost the whole creative industry. When an industry is developed, new jobs are created, and income can be increased for those who work in this industry. London is a good example, which benefits from its theatres and musical productions. Not only has the theatric business made handsome profits, the local government has also benefited from the tax revenue. In addition, these artistic facilities themselves have become tourism attractions, drawing millions of travelers to city and thereby adding extra income to the local economy. Thus, investing in arts is obviously worthwhile. In addition to money, arts venues will also bring about other sorts of returns. These facilities help to form an environment of creativity and aesthetics. Within this environment, young people will be cultivated and educated to become useful skilled professionals. For instance, when exposed to fine paintings, young people can be inspired to appreciate graphics and color pallets and eventually become designers, who will work and contribute to various sectors including advertising and industrial product design. Without these facilities, it is unimaginable where these young people can gain their motivations. Thus, from the aspect of education, arts facilities are far more important than they may seem to be. To conclude, investment in arts have both economical and educational purpose. It is not wise to withdraw these investments even though public services are needed. Governments should resort to other source of money instead of cutting budget deemed for arts.