Many offenders commit their crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In this decade, several countries are facing a great number of crimes from the same criminals. After many criminals are released from prison, they repeat their past mistakes. This essay will examine the main causes and possible solutions to this issue. The two main causes of repeating their crimes are the absence of morality and the lack of opportunity to live in society. Firstly, Having morality and ethics is one of the crucial things that people should possess but the criminals do not have. They do not feel guilty to repeat the mistake; moreover, some wrongdoers are proud of their actions or might even enjoy them. Secondly, lacking an opportunity to work in society leads to the same mistake again. In terms of employment, Thai organisations do not tend to hire people with criminal records, especially state authority officer positions. As a result, they do not earn enough incomes to cover their expenditures and can not take care of a family. Thus, they have no choices except stealing or robbery. Some possible solutions to this problem are raising awareness of wrongdoers and teaching professional skills. In terms of morality education, prison authority should instil prisoners a good mindset, including empathy, love for other people and kindness. All of this will change the convict’s mind to considerate of other people that lead to hesitate to commit a crime again. Moreover, the next step in tackling this problem is teaching professional skills to them such as hair cutting, crafts and clothes cutting out. If society does not give them an opportunity, they will have skills for self-employment. Thus, they have enough income to take care of their family and spend on everyday needs. This way is a sustainable solution and offenders do not return to crime again and again. In conclusion, lack of morality and less opportunity to live in a community are the main reasons why wrongdoers repeat their crimes after release from prison. However, we can significantly lessen crime by educating morality and teaching several skills for future careers. Simply opportunity for prisoners, we society will be improved toward and more peaceful.