Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Entrepreneurship is a term becoming much popular these days as it can be prestigious and very rewarding. However, the urge to earn that prestige demands a heavy toll. One has to go the extra mile in order to be successful working self-employed. Still, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than working for a company. Let us look at various disadvantages of being self-employed. As mentioned earlier, one has to work like a hamster on a wheel in order to gain that extra cheese. Sometimes, this chase can be fruitless and exhausting. Consequently, it can become frustrating and stressful for the person as well as his family members. Moreover, being self-employed also demands heavy investment which, if things go bad, can further aggravate the situation. Even if we assume, a person has settled well in his business, there are still a lot of ups and downs which he has to tackle on daily basis. The most relevant example which can be quoted here is the ongoing pandemic scenario which has severely affected many businesses and people along across the globe. Although it has also provided people with means to survive by taking on new business opportunities like manufacturing hand-made masks and e-commerce delivery, the severity of its lashing out on older businesses can not be overlooked. Overall, we can say that man is the master of his own destiny. Although a lot of disadvantages are attached to the scenario of being self-employed, many times, it could be rewarding and decorous if worked upon with full immersion and dedication. Rest, it depends on a person's discretion what employed he want to take.