Nowadays not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries .What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In recent times, adequate pupils are not selecting science subjects in their curriculum in most nations. The major reason related to this could be the high cost involved to complete the course and the difficulty level of these subjects. This essay will discuss the correlation between the cause and its impacts on society. Firstly, although there are multiple options available to choose science subjects in schools, it comes with hefty fees for the completion of the course. Not everyone amongst the interested candidates can afford to pay off the cost. For example, fees to complete the medical courses are very high. Due to this potential candidates are backing out from selecting such courses which are resulting in fewer qualified doctors in the community. If the government decides to give compensation on the fees, many more students can opt for science subjects and eventually produce efficient results for the economy. Secondly, in this competitive world, the importance of grades have increased. Whereas many don't prefer to select these subjects as the difficulty level of these are very high. Despite scoring well in other subjects, grades drastically come down as students fail to score well in science subjects. For instance, one can score well in accounts than science. As a result, in some of the, countries there is a scarcity of certain talent in the scientific field as students are reluctant to study those subjects. Although, the country may have enough population of the young generation yet they have to import outside candidates to fulfil the requirement. To conclude, due to heavy educational cost and rat-race competition, students are not opting out for science subjects in most of the universities. As an impact, some countries are experiencing a shortage of required talent in science -related fields and ending up poaching people from outside countries despite having enough supply. Therefore, the government should look into this matter and try to boost the inclination of students towards science subjects.