Completing university is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job,other people believe that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and gibe your opinion.

In recent times, it is widely believed that attaining a university degree is the best way to secure a lucrative job, while others suggest that widespread experience and skill acquisition are more valuable. In my opinion, I agree with the later because self employment can be guaranteed, even though finishing from the university is a prerequisite for securing professional jobs. On the one hand, for one to be hired as a professional, a degree certificate must be tendered. Eligibility for employment in most professional and high- tech facilities like medical facilities, law firms and engineering companies require an evidence of university completion. Some workers, for instance, doctors, lawyers and engineers must show their certificates, and in some peculiarities, additional documents such as license to practice in order to be fit for employment. On the other hand, being handy and experienced can guarantee self employment. Achieving an independent financial source is a need in most developing countries as a result of scarcity of white-collar jobs. For further illustration, almost all African billionaires started on a small scale as shoemakers, caterers, tailors, carpenters and other skilled labour before expanding to a global conglomerate. In conclusion,having a degree is seen as a yardstick for getting a good job, while acquiring skills and experience are viewed as more important. I am of the opinion that skill acquisition and garnering of experience should be encouraged since it can promote self employment. I, therefore recommend that people should venture into skill acquisition especially those not aiming to be professionals.