Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions are largely divided on whether learners should pursuit their favourite study or pay attention to majors which are fruitful and potential in the future. I personally support the former point of view. Those who believe that it is necessary for students to focus on courses that guarantee employment after graduation due to the high demand for the workforce in these fields. Advocates of this view assume that the final purpose of humans pursuing higher education is to earn for their living, therefore an assurance of a job will ensure graduates well-paid salary in their upcoming life. Especially, these days when science and technology play a vital role in social development, a great number of high-quality employees are needed to achieve more technological breakthroughs, so encouraging students to concentrate on these majors is likely to be convincing. On the other hand, I hold the belief that it is better for learners to devote themselves to worthwhile pursuits, which they feel interesting to study for several justified reasons. First of all, besides salary and human resource demand, motivation gaining from their passions is likely to significantly influence the outcome of a person at work. Without the preference towards their majors, they soon feel discouraged, thus losing passion and diligence. Additionally, human beings are born to have distinct strengths in different fields; therefore, if taking full advantage of this, society will feasibly have a high-quality labour force, resulting in considerable achievements. Take everything into consideration, people will shine in their world by salvaging their strengths as well as their interest. Therefore, there are no reasons for us to drive learners to study risk-free courses instead of their favourite ones which motivate them and fulfil their gratification.