Immigration has a major impact on the society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

Recent years has seen a rising trend of people migrating to another country. This phenomenon has caused ripples in many societies. People choose to migrate to foreign countries in search of better job opportunities and a higher standard of living. Conversely, this leads to a drain of skilled workers or talents from source nations and also affects its economic growth. This essay will discuss in detail the causes and effects of immigration. Firstly, individuals opt to live in a foreign country for higher-income jobs and better quality of life. Many nations around the world encourage skilled workers to migrate by offering good remunerations much higher than what they might be earning in their native country. Furthermore, these nations provide subsidised education, healthcare benefits and many other perks for immigrants which overall leads to an increased standard of living. For example, Canada offers free education to the children of immigrants and also the professionals in the healthcare domain are well paid. Thus, people migrate to another country in search of excellent work opportunities and life quality. On the other hand, when people leave their native country in search of a better life, it causes brain drain ie a shortage of skilled workers like doctors, nurses, engineers. This will in turn affect the economic growth and cause a decline in GDP. For instance, one of the main causes of the downfall of the Indian economy is the migration of talents. In conclusion, immigration has a huge influence on society. People leave their own country for better jobs and good living standards and it can cause a negative impact in their native country causing brain drain and dwindling in economic development.