Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It has become the talk of the town, whether students at the university should be allowed to choose the subjects of their liking or study only major discipline like science and technology. I opine with the former thought for the reasons that I will mention in this essay. To begin with, one will achieve goals, if the individual is allowed to pursue graduation or post-graduation of his or her willingness. Firstly, it will help them to focus and concentrate, as they are inclined towards the subject. Secondly, it is about their career, that they will continue for a lifetime. In this case, if we allow them to decide their subjects, they will demonstrate excellent performance. For instance, one of the articles published in a magazine mentions a car driver's son, who was allowed to choose humanities stream and by studying that curriculum, he became a successful class- one officer. Furthermore, looking at the prevailing situation, were science and technology is playing a vital role in the world's progress. One part of society believes that students should study only those curriculum that is in demand and will be required in the coming future. Undoubtedly, such syllabuses should be considered significant ones and they should be promoted. However, if the entire fraternity of learners would concentrate only on such type of syllabuses, it will leave an adverse impact on other fields. For example, one of the recent news reveals that one country is producing one hundred thousand engineers every year and there are only forty thousand vacancies in the market. To conclude, I strongly agree, keeping in mind the aforementioned reasons that university learners should be allowed to decide their discipline of study. We need experts in all the fields and not only in the area of science and technology.