Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements have become a huge part of our life. While some believe that it is a manipulative medium, others think it informs us about the products that may be useful. I am of a belief that it depends on the eyes of the beholder. Looking at the numbers of TV commercials and promoted sponsored posts on social media these days, it is clear that advertisements are persuasive and working well for their respective brands. It can convince a potential customer into buying the product. However, It can not plant the idea. For example, someone looking for a camera may be inclined to one brand over another, but someone not looking for a camera wouldn't go and buy one just because of an advert. On the other hand, commercials introduce us to new goods and services that can change our lives. For instance, several years ago an advert introduced me to the concept of chairs which can improve my posture. Which proved to be quite helpful for many years down the line since my work requires long hours of sitting and use of a computer. Lastly, without commercials, one will be unaware of several important innovations and offers. To conclude, in my opinion, advertisements are more informative than manipulative. Nonetheless, it depends on the consumer. Whether they are buying the products they actually need, especially after doing their due research, or just making an impulsive buy decision. Governments and media platforms should also have stronger regulations to vetting a brand before publishing their material.