In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate online without any face-to-face contact with other people. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement in technology, everything we require in life is available merely one click away. It has become fairly easy to buy things, to work or to talk to others without any physical contact. Firstly, this essay will discuss the pros of online connectivity and secondly its negative impacts. To begin with, the internet has bestowed upon us a vast trove of possibilities which have made our life convenient. With the introduction of e-commerce websites, shopping for necessities like clothing, groceries have become easier without being hackled by a salesperson. Additionally, in the current pandemic time working from home culture is being adopted by many organizations. As this has become a common norm, coworkers are rarely meeting each other in person and are communicating with each other more through online connecting platforms like zoom and Microsoft teams. As people do not have to go to the office they are free to reside in any part of the world and work remotely. They can easily be in touch with others living in another country through social media platforms. Conversely, there are various negative aspects of spending time online without social interactions. Due to the lack of physical interactions, individuals might fail to develop an emotional connection.It reduces the interpersonal relationships between people. For example, while shopping online for clothing some consumers might miss the services and suggestions usually offered by sales staff. In the job scenarios, co-workers might find it troubling to discuss ideas online and it might not be as productive as physical discussions. In conclusion, even though it is favourable to shop, work and communicate online, it has its negative factors like lack of emotional and interpersonal relationships. In my opinion, I would prefer to shop in stores or work in an office building so that I can easily communicate with others.