Some people think that money must be spent on promoting the use of bicycles in cities while others think cities must spend on public transport discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that some people prefer the development of bicycle tracts within the city for the movement but some others prefer the improvement of public transport. I believe both modes of transports are having their own pros and cons. Therefore money should appropriately spend on both methods to get an effective transportation network. Promoting cycling within the city is a well-proven alternative not only to ease traffic congestion but also to promote the 'go green' environmental concerns. Nowadays, modern metropolises are build up with cycling paths adjoining the main roads. Usually trees are planted along the bike tracts to provide shades for the riders. Riding a bike to and for work reduce dependency on other transport modes such as bus, car or motorbike. Therefore, it will reduce the demand for fuel-consuming vehicles on the roads, as the results carbon footprint, global warming and air pollution would be reduced to a great extent. France and Belgium are famous for their city bicycle riding paths. By investing in bicycle tracts those countries have successfully reduced the number of the vehicle in the major municipality. On the other hand, it is impossible to go everywhere by bicycle. We need a good public transport system to reach the far away and difficult places, Usually when there are good and efficient public transport system people would not use their own or private vehicles. It is proven in many surveys that private wheels are the main cause of traffic congestion in main cities. For example, forty people can be accommodated on a bus without any problem, whereas for forty cars we need more space. Investing in public transport is really valued development. Most of the developed countries successfully used this strategy to ease traffic congestion in major town. In conclusion, investing in both; bicycles and public transport are good alternatives to improve transportation within the city limits both methods should be combined in an appropriate way to get the maximum benefits.