In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

There is a fact that some people from a variety of countries believe that construction of modern lines for commuter trains is a better but higher-costing salvation than improvement of public transport now existing. In my opinion, the development of the second type is more relevant so, I will try to explain it in this essay down below. On the one hand, it`s clearly seen, that our modern world is developing and the possibilities of infrastructure`s improvement are expanding from day to day. Therefore, it would be logical to this new transportation system be built, but a significant fact against it exists. The process of planning, construction and introducing this idea of new railway lines will take a tremendous financial resources spend on it and it will be very time-consuming as well. Furthermore, the maintenance of railways will be more complex and, for example, if a line breaks down for any reason, a significant amount of people can not even reach their destinations due to the lack of any possible ways. On the other hand, there is more than approachable way to improve public transportation system these days without any time delays and with a less financial investments. Some works upon the collection of information on people`s needs, analysis, planning should be helpful for government authorities. Firstly, the increasing number of transportation units on roads with higher capacity and more flexible schedules, the renovation of old road`s layers should be considered. Secondly, government and local authorities should pay their attention on development of old railways as well to make them more comfortable for people to use, by adding more modern and convenient carriages. In conclusion, the improvement of existent means of transport instead of building new ones is a better solution to develop transportation systems in several countries.