Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that the way that consumers buy has changed significantly over the last decades. Internet shopping has become extremely interesting for both consumers and sellers. This essay will discuss pros and cons of this new commercial strategy and explain why I believe that the advantages of online shopping are outweighed by its negatives when it comes to convenience. One disadvantage is online shopping is less safe. This is because clients are exposed to cyber attacks as they are asked for their personal information while doing the payment steps. This can be unsafe as criminals build fake stores aiming to collect personal data. To illustrate, this happened last month with clients of Aleatory, a casual-clothes store, when hackers stole their money from their bank account. What’s more, clothes and shoes buyers cannot wear items that they are looking at on the screen to try if it fits and suits them. The chance of choosing the wrong size or an uncomfortable piece is huge. One advantage is that it is tremendously convenient to use the internet to shop manufactured items such as electronic devices and appliances. The reason for this is because internet users can save money by comparing price tags among online stores, checking which one has the lower cost just in a few minutes. In addition, companies can expose a larger variety of goods and services in the clouds, when it is compared to a concrete built store. Furthermore, there is time flexibility for shopping on the internet as clients can browse at any time, 24 hours per day, seven days a week, independent of commercial hours. As a result, this amplifies not only the types of clients but also the consumers’ options, increasing sales and being convenient to clients. In conclusion, I think the advantages of the technological option outweigh the disadvantages in reason by its time convenience and likeliness to do a more suitable and affordable buying.