Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A large proportion of garbage from households is not recycled.Some people believe that the government must pass laws to facilitate waste recycling in homes. The way is possibly a viable solution, but I'm afraid I have to disagree that it is the only option. A prevailing thought is that people will be more likely to recycle waste if it is legally required because regulatory requirements serve as a deterrent as any other punishment. For example, based on legislation, we can see that if they pay a fine for failing to sort rubbish, they may have less money to cover daily living expenses. Sometimes, in cases where they re-offend, they may even go to clean streets or pick up litter in public. So they will dispose of the rubbish as the government instructed to avoid these consequences. Moreover, this fines can be used to invest in recycling facilities and infrastructures in our countries, like garbage bins and factories, in return for recycling activities. Despite the potential outcome of the legal approach, it may not be the only way to solve the problem. We know that people dump waste recklessly because they do not realize the environmental benefits of recycling and the appropriate methods. So we can dedicate ourselves to educating and giving the facilities for people to use in daily life whenever possible from a young. It seems to be a proper way to recycle. For example, Some publicity campaigns with educational institutions provide information about what items can be recycled, what facilities collect these items, and why it is active for us. If people find that recycling is in their best interests, they will voluntarily engage in this activity without strict laws. In conclusion, legislation changes positively affect people's behavior to some extent. Meanwhile, well-educated and well-drilled facilitate their awareness of recycling. Therefore, combining all the means to achieve the best result of recycling more waste in their homes is necessary.