Some people say that history can teach us many important values and lessons, but others think it is unnecessary to learn from the past. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is suggested that history can educate us on values and lessons even though others think that is is it is useless to learn from the past. In my opinion,I believe that history is essential for understanding past events and the preservation of culture although it could quite boring, voluminous and lacks some importance in today's world. On one hand, history has become beneficial to many people. For instance, many people have relied on history to provide information about past happenings, such as the world war, slave trade, the fight for women's rights but most importantly ti understand various cultures and languages that have become extinct. To illustrate this, i would give an example, recently there has been a lot of excavation of the tombs of dead pharaoh's of the ancient Egypt. History has enabled historian and archeologists understand the purposes of the burial rites performed on the mummies but most importantly get better understanding of the earliest civilisation that happened in Africa. By finding this important information, a lot of questions have been answered regarding past cultures and traditions and also understanding the markings, drawings or writings on the tombs. On the other hand, history has become distorted in many ways due to certain reasons such as; tampering of evidences to suit a personal narrative. For example, slavery and how it began have been altered tremendously in various historical books to suit absurd religious narratives and further romanticise slave owners as good people acting on their better judgement. However it may be, these books tend to be voluminous, stating falsehood and having no significant relevance or representation of today's world which in my opinion a lot of people want to forget due to the horrific circumstances that occurred in the past. In my opinion, although, I believe history is important because of it holds sentimental value, I also agree that, in many cases the representations of history such as books and manuscripts are bogus and lack proper evidence to show the actual evident without adulteration of any form. In conclusion, even though history is of importance because of what is represents, I reckon it is also fair to state that most of event recorded could be untrue because they are retold stories and we can never be certain of the intentions behind the written information.