Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be used better elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the arts have become increasingly popular therefore, some people think that the government is wasting funds on it and that the money could be used for something else. It is disagreed that art is a waste of money. Analysing the positive effect of the arts, as well as the endless possibilities that it offers the society will prove this. Firstly, the arts continually has tremendous positive effects on people. For instance, it is widely known that humans are very hardworking and sometimes need the opportunity to relax and destress. The arts has often been used to fulfill this need by many people and the after effects of viewing or participating in an any form of art such as an opera, live performances, theatrical productions, have been recorded to have positive effects like instant gratification on it’s viewer and participants. Secondly, the arts has provided many people with a safe and secure environment to express themselves and their creativity. For example, many high school leavers now have the option of going into creating art rather than studying compulsory subjects like medicine, law or engineering. With the help of the internet, young creative people now have the opportunity to showcase their talents to live audiences, while also making a stable income without the pressures of securing a higher degree or a regular job. To summarise, the art continually serves as therapy to many people who seek it out, and also, it has become an avenue for self expression. Therefore, I disagree with the idea that the government is wasting money on the arts because it is clear that the arts contribute positively to the wellbeing of the public.