Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays many youngsters hesitate to enter this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid it?

The youths of the present generation reframe from venturing into farming as a career, even though farming is the bedrock of every nation; several factors are responsible for this and can be addressed successfully. To begin with, engaging in cultivation as a profession is expensive; therefore, many youths do not have sufficient capital to start it as a career. For instance, it is established that to begin a successful farming career, at least a piece of land, working tools, and other logistics are required as a foundation. Unfortunately, this is not usually the case for youngsters who are just starting life; this challenge has a significant impact on their decision to go into this business. In addition, youths perceive this vocation as difficult, tasking, and time-consuming. For example, it is a known fact that children of this generation are technology attuned and would instead engage in accessible and comfortable activities such as information technology (IT). Sadly, their perception about this path is that of tasking and time-consuming venture not worthy of experimenting; hence, the hesitation to participate. Therefore, these factors will continue to influence youths ’ interest to take cultivation as a profession if not addressed. In addressing the factors highlighted, making loans accessible to young people will help address the issues related to the high cost of planting-related agriculture. For instance, renowned farmers are known to invest heavily in the business; interestingly, this practice mostly turns out to be a good investment return. Besides, introducing mechanized-farming will motivate them more to want to engage in this volition. Specifically, mechanization is a form of advanced technology that the new generation admires so much; hence, they are more likely to be attracted to farming and, in turn, may prefer to become farmers. Therefore, these solutions are a practical approach to addressing these factors. In summary, related factors such as high cost and time consumption influence the interest of youths of this generation to participate in cultivation as a source of livelihood; however, accessibility to funding and mechanized-farming are ways to improve their interest engage in the profession. Therefore, it is evident that factors deterring growing ups from participating in farming can be addressed successfully.