Some people think that getting a degree from University is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People hold different views on the importance of university education to get a quality job. In my opinion, the advantage of university education to land a good job depends upon the type of pursued career. On the one hand, it is believed by some that having a university degree may give a privilege over other candidates in the enrollment competition. It cannot be denied that students learn many new job -related knowledge and professional skills in universities, which certainly assist them to get a better position in the job market comparing to others who do not have higher education. Nowadays, the majority of companies are interested in hiring candidates who acquired a postgraduate education, at least graduates with bachelor’s degrees. To illustrate, it often can be seen in job advertisements that a large number of jobs require some special education or training, which can be obtained only in universities. On the other hand, some experts claim that having early work experience more advantageous than a university education to follow a successful job career. For instance, for a businessman having good practical expertise in marketing and management of work would be more beneficial to run a successful business rather than a degree by University. Since those skills come mostly with experience, a tertiary education may not be helpful as practical work experience. I opine that a college education is essential for people as it helps them to sophisticate their knowledge and professional work skills, especially for those planning to get a job in a healthcare sphere or in education. However, there some exceptions in fields related to sales in the business where learning practical tactics before studying in University would be more handful to get better jobs. To conclude, studying at University is more successful than going straight to work in order to build a promising job career depending on the character of the profession.