In some countries, more and more adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is a common trend in some countries that an increasing number of adults continue living with their mom and dad even after obtaining a degree and starting their careers. In this essay, I will explore this situation and explain why I tend to think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, it is hard to argue that one of the main reasons why modern adults do so is that living with parents provides financial and emotional support. For instance, sharing the grocery and home appliances bills results in a lot of income savings which can further be used for travel and hobbies. It can also come in handy to save up the paychecks towards future mortgage down-payment in case a child decides to fly off the nest. Furthermore, another solid reason for this trend is that a child can take care of his parents in case they require assistance. For example, in many nations, it is a tradition that requires the youngest son to reside with his father and mother even after he starts a family of his own. On the other hand, living in the same house with mom and dad can often cause an invasion into the private life of an adult. For example, modern psychologists claim that after reaching adulthood you can not live with your elders because it forms an unhealthy emotional attachment. Moreover, you will not be treated as a separate individual. Another drawback is that a person who resides with parents is most likely to depend on other’s opinion to make decisions. For example, in India young adults marry people who have been chosen for them. In conclusion, there are pros and cons to this trend. In balance, however, I tend to think that privacy of personal life and expression of free will outweigh some possible advantages of financial and emotional support.