Some people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes. Others argue that this money should be spent for sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

there have been debates on what would be more beneficial for countries whether to invest more in sports facilities for professional sportsmen or for the general public. analysing this issue we should consider all possible concepts in view of the interests of both parties. although both sides seem to have strong arguments, I believe the main one is the health appeal. to begin with, some nations are convinced that sports achievements would assist them in getting some recognition and reputation. For instance, they are building more sports constructions hoping to win the Olympic games. in some countries there are ghost towns such as athletics villages erected especially to host the world-famous competition. unfortunately, upon completion of the Games the authorities failed to use these facilities as expected. the results of the wasted money can be seen in some Latin American countries. therefore, some countries paying attention to this bad experience are focused more on citizens, on investing in the general public health. the belief is based on simple reasons like improving the overall health situation in the country and involving more people to lead active lifestyle. all these can be achieved by delivering more sports fields and fitness clubs in residential areas. to illustrate this, living in urban areas most people are busy with routine activities and have less time to go far to do some exercise. thus, it would be more convenient to have a gym on the ground floor of the building. this would show the people's well-being is of paramount importance for the authorities. in the end, after thinking over this issue though for some countries the world recognition is of high priority, I am strongly convinced that healthy behaviour and habits are of exceptional value for more states. I hope other countries would follow this example and see the advantages of investing in ordinary people.