In your opinion. What has been the most significant transportation innovation of the past 200 years? Support your opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is universally acknowledged that technological innovations have been developed without a limit over the last two centuries. Hence, the transport sector has been tremendously benefited from so-called innovations; being aeroplanes the most remarkable invention created. The reasons to support this will be stated in the next paragraphs. On the first hand, aircraft did not exist two hundred years ago, which made people's transportation from one place to another extremely difficult. Therefore, people spent superfluous hours travelling until reaching their final destination by ship or train. For instance, research published shows that moving from one country to another on a different continent would take up to a week by ancient ships. Nevertheless, nowadays with modern aeroplanes we are able to go from America to Europe in less than ten hours. Thus, moving by air has created considerable savings in terms of individuals time. Moreover, air transportation is well-known for being safer than many other means of transportation. Unlike cars or motorcycles, fewer accidents can be attributed to airships. Since its invention, a large amount of resources has been invested in the plane's safety. From its physical features to safety protocols designed exclusively for them, aeroplanes are considered almost an accident-clear mean of transportation, which gives room for a correlation between innovation and security. To sum up, over the past two hundred years there has been significant inventions, however, aeroplanes can be classified as an extraordinary development, which has brought a wide range of benefits for society. It is predicted that in the upcoming years, travel by air will be the most used mean of transportation by our society.