Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be case? What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

Living in an era of a large variety of employment options giving us various work opportunities ranging from being employed in a company to work individually as freelancers. In this essay, I will describe the most appropriate life- work balance as the main cause of this tendency and analyze the possible drawbacks of isolation as self-employed persons, which lead to the obsolescence of skills and technologies. To my mind, the main reason why a large number of people opt to work freelance is that they are eager to find the most suitable working schedule to meet their professional and personal requirements. This is because, if it were not for being self-employed, individuals would not devote a decent part of the time to their families or personal hobbies. As a result, not only are individuals able to obtain a flexible working schedule, but they can also have as much time for personal desires, as possible. For instance, I felt far freer when I worked as a freelance translator at home compared to those times when my work was tight scheduled in a translation company. Nevertheless, the professional isolation of individuals which causes the decline of the goods or services quality in the long run can be the main drawback of such a trend. Ignoring the benefits of communication with educated colleagues and being inside of a professional community may limit individuals’ opportunity to discover and share valuable thoughts on new technologies and scientific know-how. For example, freelancers working in areas with rapid development, such as IT, often encounter difficulties in receiving fresh skills, therefore, they prefer to join a certain vocational network. To conclude, a huge number of people have become self-employed because a flexible working schedule will allow them to meet their individual ambitions. Albeit there would be a threat to their competency and expertise.