Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, experts throughout both the advancement and developed world have debated whether the advent of sophisticated modern technology such as mobile phones, laptops and iPad have helped to enhance and improve people’s social lives or whether the opposite has become the case. Personally, I strongly advocate the former view. To begin, there is ample, powerful, almost daily evidence that automation can be detrimental, especially to the younger generation who are more easily affected by its addictive nature and which can result in the population feeling more isolated from society. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, the invention of online social media sites and apps like Twitter and Facebook have reduced crucial face-to-face interactions dramatically. Through the use of these appealing and attractive mediums, family feel in touch and connected yet lack key social skills and the ability to communicate. Secondly, dependence on these devices is built up frighteningly easily which may have a damaging effect on mental health and encourage a sedentary lifestyle. For example, recent scientific research demonstrated that 90% of the community in their 30s spend countless hours per week on social media and similar applications to communicate with their friends via mobile devices instead of meeting up and spending quality time doing sport. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have decreased and diminished our real-life interactions. On the other hand, although there are significant downsides to technological developments, its’ multifold advantages cannot be denied. Since the popularity of technology allows the community to connect freely and easily with no geographical barriers. With the accompany of convenience, the crowd are able to share any type of news, information, photos and opinions with their loved ones whenever and wherever they want, therefore keeping a feeling of proximity and closeness. Taking an extensive study by psychologists illustrated that people who work or study abroad and use applications like Facetime and WhatsApp to chat with their families are less likely to experience loneliness and feel out of the loop than those who do not. Consistent with lines of thinking is that businessmen are also undoubtedly able to benefit from these advances by holding virtual real-time meetings using Skype, which may increase the chance of closing business deals without the need to fly. To sum up, from the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that overall communication and mans’ sociability has been advanced enormously due to huge the huge technological progress of the past twenty years and despite some potentially serious health implications which governments should not fail to address, it is predicted that its popularity will continue to flourish in the future.