In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting University studies. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that many students take a gap year after high school, and instead of going straight to college, they spend a year travelling or working. This essay discusses what are the positive and negative impacts of this decision. There are some people who believe taking a gap year after high school has some remarkable advantages. First, they argue that choosing a college or university is a tremendously difficult decision and, as a consequence, it is important to take some time to think about the options. To illustrate, many youngsters choose their course and, in the middle of the program, they give up because that was not the best course for them. Second, it is often argued that it is important to take some time before starting university application because it is a long journey. Therefore, it is necessary to rest before starting this journey. On the other hand, others think that waiting a year to start college is a waste of time. They argue that if someone waits to start a course, he will finish the program later, and the best option would be to take a year after graduating. For example, some courses, such as engineering and medicine, last 5 or 6 years to complete, and adding an extra year would make people take almost a decade to finish their studies. Besides, many young people that take a gap period do not start their studies after this period, which is something terrible. The main reason for this is that they lose their motivation and, as they have started to work, they do not feel that studies are necessary. In conclusion, while taking a gap period has some advantages, such as helping students to choose properly their intentions and giving them some rest before the journey, it also has some disadvantages, such as taking longer to obtain their graduation or even demotivating some of them to start a program.