Do you agree or disagree with the following statement ? A zoo has no useful purpose

I do agree that a Zoo has its useful purpose. It provides an opportunity for human beings to interact with wild animals besides other purposes. However, there are other viewpoints questioning its use. Firstly, Zoos provide a safe environment for endangered species, offer professionally run breeding programs, and some of them have rehabilitation programs for creatures going back to the wild forests. Secondly, Most of us cannot afford to go to forests and even if we go once or twice during our lifetime, we cannot see many wild animals whereas at Zoo we can see most of them. They will also house animals that are brought from different parts of the world thereby providing an opportunity for all the visitors to see them. Thirdly,Zoological parks are a source of income for governments and provide employment opportunities for few people. They also serve as recreational places for visitors and in particular for children. On the other hand, there are some contrasting views such as Cages and enclosures are small for animals. They suffer cruelty at the hands of zookeepers, staff or visitors. They should live in their natural habitat instead of places like Zoo. Holding them in captivity is wrong. A Zoos is an artificial environment’s that constrain an animal’s natural behaviour. People will not respect them and tease them as they are in cages In conclusion and based on the above viewpoints, I do agree that zoos serve a great purpose and other counter views questioning their purpose are valid to an extent but those can be addressed through some stringent laws and providing an environment that is as close as possible to the animal’s natural habitat.