People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution that causes health problems for many. Explain possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

Many megalopolises and big cities are known for their high levels of air pollution, causing serious illnesses and even premature deaths among city residents. Even though the sources of air pollution in the modern world are multiple, one of them cars – is definitely concentrated in cities. Despite being the favourite method of transportation for many, cars are responsible for a large proportion of the air pollution in big cities. Cars emit poisonous carbon dioxide as well as other harmful particles. People living in cities breathe this polluted air for years, and some develop dangerous illnesses like asthma and lung cancer. In order to reduce the use of private vehicles, the government should introduce two main policies. The most obvious way to reduce air pollution would be to reduce the number of cars on the streets. One way to limit the number of private vehicles is to improve public transport. If buses and trains were comfortable and fast, many people would use them instead of driving. For example, in London many people living in the centre do not own a car at all. Another way would be to discourage people from having a car by making it more expensive. Today many people can afford to get a small, old car. But if the government imposed a higher annual tax on car owners, many of them would avoid buying a car. In conclusion, huge numbers of cars on the streets of big cities seem to be the main source of air pollution. In order to decrease car ownership, the government should use a combination of policies: to increase the cost of having one and to develop reliable public transport systems that city residents could use instead.