Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is evident that technology has evolved rapidly in past few decades, reshaping the way we communicate. As we thrive in a constantly changing environment, advanced communication is crucial. It assists mankind to connect via diverse platforms. From Social media to Video calling to chats, technology has helped to bridge communication gaps. In contrary to this, there are many who don’t have the means to access innovations in the filed of communication, and depend on traditional ways to converse. In this essay I will throw some light on both views. Gone are the days when people used to write letters to interact. Modern communication modes has definitely impacted all of us, immensely. To start off with, consider years back when someone moved to a new place it was pretty unrealistic to have a frequent conversation with them, because of high calling charges and bad internet quality. Long back then, no one ever thought that we could actually see a person sitting in other part of the world and talk to him. Video calling was a dream, until we were blessed with modern communication platforms like Skype, imo etc. Since nowadays, the competition in the field of telecommunication and internet providers are so high, the service rates are subsidized too. In addition to this, it also bought many companies and their employees spread globally, to connect virtually. We can never deny the fact that modern techniques brings us more convenience and a trouble-free access to connect to the world. In contrast, sending letters would take months to reach to a person, and sometimes might not reach at all. To counter above argument, some developing nations and their citizens are still not so educated or do not have such means to access the modern communication channels.Many people in these countries are struggling for one time meal, we cannot expect them to have access to Facebook or Skype which requires good internet speed, a computer and knowledge to operate. For them, writing letters is the sole way of communicating. So,it wouldn't be appropriate to say that letter writing is no longer required in this new evolving environment. But, letter writing has its own flaws and limited scope in this challenging world. To conclude I believe it all depends under which circumstances letter writing is used.It is not at all doubtful that, modern communication is a boon by masterminds. There is no place which is hard to reach and it creates a small virtual world, but there are many for whom modernization is still a luxury hard to afford.