Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is certainly true that online shopping has become more widespread since the emergence of the World Wide Web in many developed parts of the globe. However, not all the aspects of purchasing via Internet have been positive. Although, there are obviously some advantages. There are several drawbacks of online shopping. A common criticism of this kind of shopping is that it has shortage of security and privacy, which means that the customer's account and information is public and seen to everyone. Moreover, the shoppers cannot feel the material of the product or try on the clothes or shoes. Another negative aspect is that the buyer have to wait 24 hours to have his question answered. For instance, the customer's request might be delayed if the question has not been answered. In spite of these disadvantages, online shopping has brought us many important benefits as well. One such advantage is that online stores are open the entire day, which means that the shopper can use the web anytime day or night. The second positive effect is that the customer has the ability to compare different prices of hundreds of vendors. A particularly good example here is that buying a suitcase with the same features and from the same brand but it is sold on various websites with different prices will summarise the process of purchasing. In conclusion, while there are some obvious drawbacks of buying infinite products online, it has also brought to us various useful things at the same time.