Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

A decreasing number of students choose to major in science studies in universities nowadays all over the world. In this essay, I will explore the reasons for the trend and the possible effects on the population. Firstly, one of the main reasons is that learning technique is academically challenging. Furthermore, it requires strong dedication and concentration which are hard to maintain in the modern world. For example, massive research within the graduate education system has proven that students nowadays are surrounded by various distractions, such as social media, video games and gadgets. These distractions force scholars to choose easier subjects to study, thus decreasing the number of pupils who aspire to explore science. Another reason for the trend is that everyone wants to be able to get a job and start making money right after they graduate and get a degree. Moreover, youth is discouraged that in order to be a scientist one has to study hard and obtain funding for his research by persuading the university board to give him a research grant. For instance, many California Technical University’s graduates can not find employment because their attempts to obtain funding were unsuccessful. Secondly, one of the biggest effects of such a trend is that there are not as many scientific discoveries as it used to be several decades ago. For instance, it has been proven that modern pupils have brains with less plasticity than previously which means that they are less likely to want to learn something new every day. Another negative effect of kids avoiding hard studies is that it eventually decreases the ratio of the intellectual elite in society, therefore turning us all into an average random person without any academic aspirations. In conclusion, the main causes of not majoring in science are lack of dedication and financial challenges which contribute to fewer discoveries and extinction of the intellectual elite in society in many nations.