24. In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recent years has seen a surge in ageing population all over the world. In many countries the older generation is outgrowing the younger generations due to the advancement in medicine. In my opinion, this trend will have a negative impact rather than a positive impact on the economy. This essay will examine the reasons in favour of the said viewpoint. To begin with currently, the world is experiencing a silver tsunami. As the aged population outnumbers the younger, government bodies will have to pump in large sums of money for their care and support. Additionally, authorities have to spend more on pension funds, subsidies for the elderly as well as construct hospice homes. For instance, in Singapore the majority of the population constitutes of the aged people and a major portion of the government spending goes to the support for the elderly. It can lead to an imbalance in the economy as well as the society. Therefore, increasing ageing population is a negative development for a nation. Secondly, the dwindling number of younger generation will adversely affect the economy. As the aged population grows it leads to a shortage of able bodied manpower needed to perform various jobs. For example, logistics firms requires young bloods to do deliveries, work with heavy lifting equipments, driving heavy-duty vehicles etc which can prove to be quite challenging for older people. So, it is always beneficial for a country if the large part of the population are youngsters. To conclude, it is argued that the number of elderly will be more than that of the younger generation in the near future. However, this phenomenon is a negative development as it impedes a nation's economic progression.