Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

It is true that there has been increasingly more competition between the young and the old who are in search of the same job. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, steps can be taken to mitigate these potential problems. As more elderly applicants have to compete with the younger ones for a job, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that this will obviously pose more challenges for the young who are struggling to find a place in the labour market. Older people, understandably, are usually given more favourable consideration by recruiters due to their vast experience in comparison with the young generation, which can lead to a shortage of work for younger people, increasing the rates of unemployment. Furthermore, when being unemployed and lacking a stable source of income, people are likely to commit crimes such as robbery to feed themselves and their family. As a result, not only will the citizens’ quality of life diminish, but their safety will also be threatened. However, there are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, decreasing the legal retirement age can alleviate the pressure of competition the young have to take. Secondly, increasing the state pension is also an ideal option for this issue because some retirees who find their pension sufficient for living will not have to return to work. Finally, governments can create more available jobs by attracting international organizations to invest with additional incentives. In conclusion, competition between the young and the old in job market is a prevalent problem in much of the world, however, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise.