Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic: The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life. Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Work is essential to survive and takes a huge chunk of our lives. In the past, it was quite common to have one job for your entire life, however, time seems to be changing. I think having several earning streams will be a new normal in near future, which will also require us to keep on learning new skills. There are numerous benefits to having multiple careers. Firstly, it gives you a safety net to fall back on, when things go southwards. WIth an extra revenue stream one can have a longer runway to get back on track, should they be fired or laid-off. For instance, due to covid, my firm had to let go of half of their staff, which caused distress in my team lead's life due to not having any backup option. Lastly, having multiple competencies from different careers means better options in the market. Plenty of companies today prefer to hire people who are resourceful and proficient in multiple areas. While there are plenty of advantages of having multiple careers, it can only be achieved with continuous learning. To begin with, today more knowledge means more value. Be it college or a work interview, everyone gives importance to the extra credits and expertise. For example, I landed my first job solely because I knew how to code with HTML and CSS, which are quite rare skills for a backend engineer. Additionally, more experience means better earning opportunities. To illustrate, a friend of mine, who learned chess as a hobby, got a student to teach a few years back and now he trains several students for chess tournaments along with his full-time job. In conclusion, I think, as for a career is concerned, keeping all your eggs in one basket could be a disaster. Moreover, being a Jack of all trades can increase your chances of creating more revenue streams and becoming less dependent on a particular employer.