Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which cause many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to enourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s food industry, it is commonly found that a vast number of food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which lead to numerous young generations suffering from diabetes and obesity. There is a proposal that suggests that we need to increase the product’s price in order to decrease its sales. Nevertheless, this strategy does not fully support the goal. Therefore, several more actions need to be taken to address this health issue in society. Consuming sugary products is detrimental due to its harmful effects on our various body parts such as the brain and heart. In addition to that, sugar potentially increases the risk of depression and anxiety. From my point of view, irrespective of its rising cost, people won’t stop consuming it as it has become their habit and lifestyle. What is considered to be more effective is educating people about the potential health risks that are associated with higher intake of sugar. Furthermore, the government should intervene to ban certain levels of sugar like what is currently applied in some particular countries. Moreover, food scientists should aspire to invent risk-free alternatives to sugar and start utilising it in their upcoming products. Therefore, people could enjoy sweetness through this brand-new replacement without sacrificing their health. Ultimately, sugar is destructive mentally and physically. However, a growing cost of sugar would not prevent people from eating sugar, hence, the role of government is required here in order to limit the consumption of sugary products. Additionally, food scientists should also establish sweet yet healthier foods and beverages.