Scientists and Technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists. To what extent do you agree?

The level of worth issued to science and technology experts against their performing arts counterparts has been a topic with so much controversy. While there is quantifiable evidence that scientists and technologists are majorly respected, there is also proof that this is not so. This essay will discuss these views. On one hand, so much regard is given to those with expertise in science and technology. Furthermore, they are truly revered in our society in recent times. This is believed to be mostly due to, but not limited to their contribution to discoveries that have been of good use to the world at large. Moreover, they are viewed as role models in the community. To illustrate, a recent study done in Nigeria shows that a greater percentage of parents are more affiliated to pressure their children to become scientists and technology experts. By contrast, performers of music and arts are the stars of today. This is obvious in the level of attention given to them by the public nowadays. Also, there are so many events planned for the celebration of artists and musicians. For instance, the Grammy, AMVCA, Headies are all directed to honour artists and musicians. Furthermore, the funds generated by this sector have greatly caused the special treatment which they are given. Therefore, the love for performing arts is quite palpable in the society of today. In conclusion, the intellects of scientific and technological skills appear to more revered than their arts performing counterparts. I am of the opinion that this is a mere mirage as the singers, painters, actors e.t.c receive more admiration and honour from the people of today.