Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is commonly agreed that it is better to share private information online so that users can get access to certain pages. However, I believe that this trend has a negative impact because it means that more people are vulnerable to hacker attacks. Those who are in favor of giving their personal information to online platforms claim that this would help these organizations to approach their customers easily. The more users give personal data, the easier is to meet their needs and expectations. This would facilitate companies to develop products and offer services based on their customers' preferences. A typical example of this, Instegram has been using their users ' data, such as age and location to show them pages related to this information. As a result, it has facilitated the way to target people and instantly provide them with what they need based on their personal data. On the other hand, I would disagree with this statement because it has exposed people to hacker threats. Many people are unaware of the importance of creating strong passwords for their personal accounts or avoiding clicking unknown links, which would make them an easy prey for cyberattacks. This type of attack could make peoples' lives more miserable because it always threat them by stealing money from their account or sharing private information with the public. The Sunday Times is recently reported that more than 50% of hacking come from the sign-up form because most users have chosen to use same the passwords for all their accounts. For that reason, this trend has contributed to many security breaches, which could destroy peoples' lives. To sum up, although providing private information to websites could help companies to fulfill their users ' needs, I would go against this movement because it would be easier for hackers to steal this information if users had failed in protecting them.