The environmental problems that today's world is facing are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So governments and large organisations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, it is believed by some part of a population that citizens can do nothing with global environmental problems and large organisations should take all the responsibility on themselves. This essay will discuss the extent to which this statement may be correct or, on the contrary, why it might be false. To begin with, on the one hand, a possible reason for this idea to be considered to be true is that the ecological issue is so huge that only large-scale actions can solve it. This is because of the fact that not only can the authority impose new regulations and laws that can oppose the damage caused to nature but also pollution permits can be introduced which, in turn, will considerably reduce the number of carbon dioxide emissions. Therefore, if the government takes the responsibility it can make huge steps towards the resolution of this global problem, which are impossible for ordinary people. For instance, one recent research has shown that government intervention might decrease the damage to nature by 5% only in the first year. However, on the other hand, every huge step consists of small, invisible for someone, tiny movements made by human beings that can have a significant impact on final results. This is due to the fact that not only can consumers recycle waste and reuse a lot of their own things in order to decrease the amount of wastage but also they can encourage others to do it in the same manner and popularise the whole problem among humans. As a result, the awareness of environmental problems will be increased and more and more humans will be able to contribute to global actions. For example, one study has illustrated that thanks to the activists and volunteers more than a million tonnes of waste were recycled in Ukraine in the year 2017. Eventually, to conclude, I disagree with the statement that only the government and large organisations should be responsible for issues related to the ecology of the world. The main reason for this is that everyone can contribute something in the process of solving this challenge and all small steps, including waste recycling and voluntary work, might improve the current situation.