Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are two differing opinions regarding the view of the past. Some people think that the past is just mere bygones and one cannot learn from the past history, while others view the past as pieces of history from which one can learn to understand the development of human life. This essay discusses both views regarding the past and the author's personal opinion. The first belief that one cannot consider the past history as a resource to learn human development is likely to stem from the differences in culture and lifestyle between the past and the present. In short, the present is seen as the "best" era, while the past can be "let go". Additionally, proponents of this opinion are also likely to think that the past cannot be compared to the present. Thus, they do not see the past history as a good source to study human life and development. Furthermore, traumatic events from the past also seem to influence this way of thinking, such as wars, famines, plagues, and so on. Such events can reinforce this view regarding the past. On the other hand, advocates of the view that one can learn from the past history seem to think that the differences in lifestyle and culture are the very reasons that history is a good source to learn human development. By comparing such differences, one can take the good aspects and learn from the fails of the past lifestyles and cultures. For example, one can analyze the factors behind past traumatic events such as disasters and formulate what actions should be done to mitigate the negative impacts of such events in the future. I tend to agree with the latter view that history is a valuable resource of learning about human life and development. Moreover, I do belief that one should not treat the past as "bygones" and instead can learn from the failures of the past to make for a better future.