Some people are of the opinion that being highly qualified is the only way to ensure a well-paying job. While others believe that having work experience is the best way to get a well-paying job. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Getting a high paying job is a competitive endeavour. Although some people argue that having a distinguished qualification is the only way to bag a higher salary, there are others who opine that having work experience is the best way to ensure better pay. This essay elaborates on both views and explains, why I believe that having work experience is more important. To begin with, there are some fields where without a higher qualification, the candidate is uneligible to get the job in the first place. For example, to land up at a job as a doctor, the person has to pass MBBS in the first place. So in such cases, it might be true that higher qualification only will help the individual. In other fields, highly qualified candidates, like those from IITs are considered more intelligent and thus more innovative. So they end up getting higher pay packages. However, there is a caveat. Such qualifications can help bag a good first job, but further continuation depends on many other factors. Employers know that experienced people carry certain skill sets that freshers can rarely match and thus, are willing to pay higher for the same. For instance, a general practitioner working in Africa and treating Ebola patients will be vastly more experienced at managing the disease than an infectious disease consultant sitting in the UK. Also work experience helps people identify problems even before they arise and, also teaches them how to deal with colleagues in a more convincing way. E.g An elder doctor appears to be more convincing to patients than a trainee. All in all, I believe that because of the qualities that experience brings to the table like, niche skill sets and better human interactions, it is a better way to get a well paid job.