Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Research on personality development is a vast topic in the field of psychology. There is a view that nothing can alter our nature as it is determined by our genes before our birth. This essay elaborates, why I completely disagree with this view. To begin with, a man/woman's personality develops with experiences that he/she encounters. A small baby doesn't have much in terms of personality at birth. As he grows older, he gathers numerous experiences, learns from them and develops his own responses which shape his inherent traits. Even though the baby carries his DNA since birth, it the training and struggles he faces that ultimately shape his character traits. For example, identical twins carry the same set of genes, but are challenged with different scenarios in life, and thus end up having different personalities. Secondly, not only is personality development dependent on the situations that we face in the younger years, but it is also malleable. Though we choose to stay rigid about some of our traits, we can change them according to the situation that we face. For instance, an introverted man who repeatedly fails at relationships might just become an obvious extrovert with practice and effort to succeed in his future relationships. Though our genetic makeup is fixed at birth, even the most basic inherent traits can be modified contradicting the argument that our genetics determines our traits and nothing can be done to alter them. In conclusion, I therefore, would disagree with the opinion that our personalities are predetermined and our character traits are amenable to alteration because our personalities are an outcome of our experiences (more than our nucleic acids) and the ability of a human being to transform even the most basic of his traits (a quality not possessed by the genetic material).