Farming is the backbone of every country but nowadays, many youngsters hesitate to enter this profession. Why is this the case and what can be done to avoid this?

Farming is the starting point of every nation, although in this day and age; the younger generation has hung back from taking up farming as an occupation. This is attributable to a reason which can be solved. Analyzing that farming as a job seems to be socially non-prestigious; however, creating awareness about farming is a remedy to why many youngsters are not interested in the profession. To begin with, a lot of youths have refused to venture into farming as a livelihood because it appears to be socially non-prestigious. For instance, there is this feeling that the public looks down on youths who shows interest in farming as a job. Sadly, this makes them have an inferiority complex when they consider farming as a career option; as a matter of fact, the society makes them believe that once they fail, they cannot bounce back. This shows that youngsters will refuse to take up farming as an occupation if the society sees it to be insignificant. On the other hand, creating awareness is one way in which young people can become interested in farming as a livelihood. For example, the government should take the initiative to educate the population about farming practices such as precision farming and its sustainability that brings remunerative income. Deplorably, youngsters cannot earn a financially worthwhile income than other jobs, if there is no proper sensitization about farming. This verifies that, the younger generation will not consider going into farming as an occupation if they are not well educated on it. In conclusion, young men and women will not be interested in farming as a profession if it is seen as an ordinary job; regardless, raising awareness about farming as a livelihood can encourage the youths to want to engage in this profession. One reason is attributable to this; fortunately, it can be solved. It could be seen that youth’s hesitation towards cultivation is as a result of the value placed on it by the people, but this can resolved through thorough and well thought through advocacy and education.