Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

It is widely accepted that crimes are reported at an increasing frequency nowadays. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is happening and put forward my personal perspectives on how to resolve the problems. To begin with, I firmly believe that the primary cause of crimes is poverty. While the total national wealth is growing worldwide, the gap between the rich and poor enlarged as well. According to a wide range of scientific research, poor families' lives become even more difficult because the government and the upper class are controlling the economy and wealth. Furthermore, these low-income families usually cannot afford the tuition of education for their children. Under the circumstances, they have little advantage in the competitions of labour markets. As a result, individuals who are struggling under the poverty line have no alternative but to turn to crimes and drug. Despite the fact that the high crime rate has been a long-standing dilemma for most countries, governments can adopt several strategies to address this issue. For instance, reducing the tax rate and providing more social benefits for low-income citizens in the hope of the parents can invest more fund into their offsprings' education. For example, there is a considerable number of examples showing that cities with a higher overall level of education tend to have lower crime rates. Therefore, investment in schools and relevant institutions is definitely the best method against crimes, even though it takes longer to prove its effectiveness. In conclusion, I am convinced that there is substantial evidence to support that the critical factors of high crime rates are poverty and inadequate education. Correspondingly, the local authorities should consider reducing the tax toward low-income households and establishing more affordable public schools.