Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world’s resources. Do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that aircraft is considered as one of the most prominent feats of engineering and technology. It is a proven fact that aeroplanes are an effective means of modern transportation in virtue of the fact that they can carry a large number of passengers over a long distance from one continent to another within a few hours. Nevertheless, some people condemn them as the culprit engendering severe air pollution, global warming and depletion of fossil fuels. Therefore, air travel should be curbed to protect the environment and preserve natural resources. From my personal perspective, I totally disagree with this notion for the following reasons. Firstly, the advent of budget airlines makes it possible for flyers to travel to other places more frequently, which facilitates more rapid economic growth, especially tourism. Tourism has become the backbone of the world economy. Moreover, from the economic viewpoint, it has been reported that the aviation industry provides millions of jobs worldwide and makeup trillions of dollars in global GDP. A vast majority of enterprises like hotels, travel agencies, restaurants, shopping centres and leisure centres are dependent on foreign tourists. Therefore, if we discourage international tourism, it would concurrently create an even worse problem, i.e. unemployment. As a result, numerous corporations would go bankrupt and a large number of people would lose their jobs. Another reason is that air travel is considered to be the fastest and luxurious way of travel nowadays. Due to their high thrust jet engines and strict compliance with the flight safety standards, states of the art aircraft like Boeing 787, Airbus 380 and Airbus 350 consume environmentally friendly kerosene and produce less toxic chemicals. Also, their new engines deliver up to 15% better specific fuel consumption than their predecessors. On the contrary, some people may assert that health is worthy of attention in modern society, so the noise pollution caused by aircraft turbine engines is absolutely unacceptable. Moreover, it is an undeniable fact that the size of aeroplane engines is proportional to the number of exhaust fumes emitted to the air throughout a long flight. Aeroplanes will persist to be an eyesore to environmentalists if the emission of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere fails to be curtailed. To put it in a nutshell, in the light of the aforementioned facts, substantial thought should be given to air and noise pollution caused by aircraft. Instead of restricting air travel, more efficient jet engines should be developed to emit less carbon dioxide. Although air travel has some adverse effects on natural resources and surroundings, I firmly stand with the point that air travel has become an indispensable part of our lives.