Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

In the contemporary era, it is often argued whether wholesale retailers such as Costco or Walmart should avoid importing food items from overseas and they must sell such products grown in their native country. I completely agree with the given notion. This essay would discuss that if organisations sell locally produced food products, firstly it would help farmers, and secondly, the companies could save their financial resources. If supermarkets sell local products cultivated by native farmers, then it would support them financially. This is because farmers would sell their crops and meat directly to the company and it would increase their profit margins. As a result, it would create jobs in the agriculture sector, and people could make their ends meet. For instance, Walmart in India, which is a country situated in Asia, decided to sell only locally produced vegetables in their stores. The decision helped in improving the lives of the local farmers since they were earning an additional five thousand rupees monthly. Companies could save money if they do not import goods from any other country. Since organisations would save import taxes that they would have given it to the government otherwise. Thus, they could now utilise this money to give incentives to native farmers. Not only the additional remunerations would help farmers to produce organic fruits and vegetables, but it would also motivate people, who are working in the farms. For example, Costco recently said in a press release that they would provide financial assistance to the local potato producers. The managing director of Costco revealed that, they have saved the money by selling local crops, and now they want to help the indigenous food industry. To conclude, this essay agrees that companies should sell local goods as it would help native food producers and big organisations could save money as well, which they could utilise it to reward farmers.