Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that we space programmes should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that the spending on space exploration is extremely pricey in terms of advancements it made while others are of opinion that human beings ought to make efforts to explore space via different programmes without regarding the expenditure. This issue has raised a thorny question in recent years. Although there are good arguments in favour of people claiming that there is no need to expend an enormous amount of money on space exploration, I strongly believe that we have to consider new space programmes to proceed. There is no doubt true that space exploration is not exactly cheap. It takes the equivalent of millions of dollars to spend even a single robotic mission to space, and billions of dollars to send astronauts to orbit. If we are looking to send explorers to even the nearest celestial bodies, chances are the costs will run into hundreds of billions. For those debating the worth of space exploration, things often turn towards the issue of how many problems we have here on Earth. For example, human beings have got enough challenges here at home, such as climate change, hunger, overpopulation, and underdevelopment. Therefore, some people think that these should take priority over exploring or establishing a human presence in other worlds. Despite the above arguments, I tend to believe that human spaceflight and space exploration has been the ability to study Earth from orbit. For instance, this has allowed us to learn an unprecedented amount about our planet's climate and weather systems. There is another assumption that directing funds into space exploration will deprive other efforts (such as addressing climate change, alleviating poverty, feeding the hungry, etc.) of vital resources. However, there is absolutely no guarantee that money not spent on space exploration would be automatically diverted to dealing with social, economic and environmental issues. To conclude, despite there are several reasons why governments should not commit huge spending on this practice, I am inclined to consider that the pros of space exploration outnumber the cons. It is predicted that governments will reduce the cost of fossil fuel and military industry rather than space exploration.